Merit Awards

The Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (formerly AACC) celebrates outstanding contributions to medicine through its annual awards program, which culminates with formal recognition at the the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM) Annual Scientific Meeting.

Most awards go to those in the laboratory field, but some, such as the Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award, are often given to people from other disciplines. 

2023 Award Winners

Jeffrey GordonWallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award
Jeffrey Gordon, MD
Washington University

Rob Christenson HeadshotOutstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine
Robert H. Christenson, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, FACC
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Gary L. Horowitz, MDOutstanding Contributions to Education in Clinical Chemistry
Gary L. Horowitz, MD
Tufts University School of Medicine

patti jonesOutstanding Contributions Through Service to the Profession of Clinical Chemistry
Patricia M. Jones, PhD
Children’s Health Laboratory System

Victoria Higgins, PhD, FCACBOutstanding Scientific Achievements by a Young Investigator
Victoria Higgins, PhD, FCACB
DynaLIFE Medical Labs

Elia M. Mears, MS, MT(ASCP)SMClinical Laboratory Scientist Achievement Award
Elia M. Mears, MS, MT(ASCP)SM
The Joint Commission

Stephen R. Master, MD, PhD, FADLMPast President Award
Stephen R. Master, MD, PhD, FADLM
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia